26 January 2018
News Category: 
Media releases

Congratulations to four of our staff, who have been recognised for outstanding achievement in their fields in the 2018 Australia Day Honours. 

Prof Jonathan Kalman AO

Prof Jonathan Kalman

Prof Jonathan Kalman has been awarded an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service to medicine, particularly to cardiac electrophysiology as a clinician and academic, and through roles with a range of national and international heart rhythm societies.

Jon is one of Australia’s leading electrophysiologists and head of the Royal Melbourne Hospital Heart Rhythm department. He performed the first curative ablation procedure for atrial fibrillation in Australia in 1997 and his department has now performed over 2000 ablation procedures for atrial fibrillation.

Internationally, Jon is recognised as one of the world’s leading researchers in the field of heart rhythm disturbances. He is a highly sought after international speaker with more than 250 research publications, many of which appear in the most frequently cited journals in cardiology.

Jon is currently the Scientific Chair of the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand and also the Scientific Chair of the Asia Pacific Heart Rhythm Society. He is a Fellow of the Australasian College of Physicians, a Fellow of the American College of Cardiologists, and a Fellow of the Heart Rhythm Society.

Emeritus Prof David Ames AO

Prof David Ames

Prof David Ames has been awarded an AO for distinguished service to psychiatry, particularly in the area of dementia and the mental health of older persons, as an academic, author and practitioner, and as an adviser to professional bodies.

David co-founded Victoria’s first memory clinic in 1988 and became a consultant psychiatrist at The Royal Melbourne Hospital’s Royal Park Campus in 1989, where he remained for 10 years.

He became director of the National Ageing Research Institute (NARI) and University of Melbourne Professor of Ageing and Health in September 2007 until May 2015 when he retired from these full time positions, becoming an Emeritus Professor in July 2016.

He is now a part time consultant psychiatrist at various hospitals, including The Royal Melbourne Hospital, a research fellow at the Howard Florey Institute and a professorial fellow with NARI and Emeritus Professor in the University of Melbourne Department of Psychiatry.

David’s research interests have been the detection and management of Alzheimer’s Disease, new therapies for Alzheimer’s Disease and the care of elderly people with depression.

Prof George Braitberg AM

Professor George Braitberg was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to medical administration and emergency medicine, and to education and health system design and to the community.

George is a respected leader in emergency medicine with more than 35 years of clinical experience. He was Director of Emergency Medicine at the RMH from May 2014 until December 2017 and is a Professor of Emergency Medicine at The University of Melbourne.

In addition to a medical degree, George holds a Master of Bioethics, Master of Health Services Management and a Graduate Diploma in Epidemiology and Biostatistics. George is a Fellow of the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine and the Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators.

George was the Senior Medical Advisor at Safer Care Victoria until December this year where he worked on the redesign of the state wide clinical incident review system.

George is a Medical Advisor Ambulance Victoria and sits on the Board of St Johns Ambulance (Victoria). He has recently been a member of the board of Barwon Health and the Ministerial Board Advisory Committee which advises the Minister for Health on how to ensure boards are highly skilled, independent and effective.

In January 2018, George took up a new role at the RMH as Executive Director of Strategy, Quality and Improvement, reflecting his strong commitment to embedding safety and quality across all aspects of healthcare.

A/Prof Nerina Harley AM

A/Prof Nerina Harley

Associate Professor Nerina Harley was awarded an AM for significant service to medicine in the fields of intensive care and nephrology, as an administrator, and to medical research and education.

Nerina was Director of the Intensive Care Unit at The Royal Melbourne Hospital from 2006 to 2015 and Chair of the Melbourne Health Medical Advisory Committee from 2012 to 2017 and is a current intensivist.

She has extensive experience in senior roles in both public and private Intensive Care Units and has been involved in numerous professional committees and boards.

Media Contact

For more information about this story, contact Communications on (03) 9342 7000 or email mh-communications@mh.org.au