The Office for Research has monthly deadlines for submission of new research project applications for review by the Royal Melbourne Hospital Human Research Ethics Committee.

HREC submission and meeting dates 2023

Submission Date (AEST 11:00 am deadline)Meeting Date

Wednesday 25 January

Wednesday 8 February

Wednesday 22 February

Wednesday 8 March

Wednesday 29 March

Wednesday 19 April

Wednesday 26 April

Wednesday 10 May

Wednesday 31 May

Wednesday 14 June

Wednesday 28 June

Wednesday 12 July

Wednesday 26 July

Wednesday 9 August

Wednesday 30 August

Wednesday 13 September

Wednesday 27 September

Wednesday 11 October

Wednesday 25 October

Wednesday 8 November

Wednesday 29 November

Wednesday 13 December

Review process

Submission of a new research project by the 11.00 a.m. deadline is not a guarantee that a project will be accepted for review by the HREC at its next meeting.

Following the submission deadline each month, all projects received will be carefully checked to ensure that projects meet the criteria required to allow a thorough review of the project. Any project not meeting these criteria in full will not be accepted for review at the next HREC meeting and will be returned to the principal researcher for attention.

Research governance or site specific assessment

There is no deadline for governance applications. Complete and submit your research governance application as early as possible.

Protocol amendments, replies to queries and serious adverse event reports

There is no deadline for these items and can be submitted at any time. Correspondence will be reviewed by the relevant project Spokesperson(s) as soon as possible after it is received. Final approval will be determined at the next scheduled meeting of the Human Research Ethics Committee following review by the Spokesperson(s).