The Royal Melbourne Hospital (RMH) held its annual Excellence in Nursing Awards and Scholarships as part of celebrations for 2024 International Nurses Day.

There were many outstanding nominees and winners recognised for their contributions to nursing and the RMH.

Nurse of the Year Clinical
Winner: Lisa Russ
Highly Commend: Ann Ramirez

Nurse of the Year leadership
Winner: Craig Price
Highly Commend: General Medicine NUMs – Marissa Lamanna, Hazel Robinson and Sheree Reid

Nurse of the Year Team
Winner: Ward 2 West
Highly Commend: ANZ Kidney Exchange – Belinda Jones and Emma Van Hardeveld

A.H. Wall Award
Recipient: Zoe Figgis

Margaret Havard and Assumpta Lee Award
Recipient: Monica Mason

Preceptorship Award
Recipient: Siobhan McMahon

RISE Award
Recipient: Spiros Edon Adamopolous

RMGNA Art of Nursing Award
Two recipients: Momoka Yoshida and Joel Fitzgerald

Mental Health

Graduate Nurse of the Year
Winner: Benjamin Griffiths

Postgraduate Nurse of the Year
Winner: Amelia Morgan

Enrolled Nurse Transition Nurse of the Year
Winner: Luka Stefani

Registered Nurse Transition Nurse of the Year
Winner: Pechsocheato Sao


June Allen Nursing Scholarship
Recipient Yong Jhu (Emily) Sun

Lynly S Aitken Scholarship
Recipient Danielle Barr

Lynly and Yvonne Aitken Scholarship
Recipient Rebecca Lewin

Rosalie Mordech
Recipient Alana Jones

International Nurses Day 2024
Mobile Stroke Unit with Ambulance Victoria paramedic and the RMH Stroke team
Media enquiries

We provide a media service from 6am to 10pm each day. Journalists are welcome to contact our media advisor on-call via the RMH Switchboard on (03) 9342 7000.

During business hours, journalists can email We do not respond to emails outside business hours.

Life’s unpredictable. Our response isn’t.

We urgently need to raise $2.5 million for a second CT scanner in our Emergency Department.

This is a vital piece of equipment that provides rapid and accurate diagnosis for trauma and stroke patients like Brianna.